April 02 – ARCH/MATHEOS Launch Video For First Single “Straight and Narrow”, Feat. Steve Di Giorgio, New Album ‘Winter Ethereal’ Out May 10th!

ARCH/MATHEOS’ new album ‘Winter Ethereal’ will be released May 10th on Metal Blade Records. A video for the song “Straight and Narrow” is available now for streaming.

Stated Arch/Matheos: “We decided that it would be a good idea to use a different lineup and hopefully avoid a lot of the confusion created around the first record. At the same time, we didn’t want to give the impression that we were forming a new ‘band’ that would be touring/recording beyond this current record. With that in mind, I thought it might be an interesting idea to have a few different rhythm sections across the record, to give things a different feel and sound under the familiar top layer of vocals and guitars by John and I.” This lineup comprises both present and former Fates Warning drummers and bassists – Joey Vera, Bobby Jarzombek, Joe Dibiase and Mark Zonder – plus other noted musicians, such as the legendary Steve Di Giorgio (Death, Testament, Charred Walls Of The Damned), Cynic’s Sean Malone, and renowned drummer Thomas Lang.

Steve Di Giorgio adds: “New video single, “Straight and Narrow” from upcoming Arch/Matheos album Winter Ethereal, out now! Album release May 10. A huge honor for me to be included amongst some of metal’s greats. I’m a huge fan of the Sympathetic Resonance album, and an old schooler for Awaken the Guardian. Awesome working for Metal Blade again and flying out to Pennsylvania to meet up with Jim Matheos, John Arch & Bobby Jarzombek in a theater built in 1894. David & Allie made “work” easy for the shoot. And had a great lunch chilling with everyone, including the man, the legend, John Archambault! Check out the video and look out for the album in May. https://youtu.be/NBnUR9wmmjQ @ Sellersville Theater 1894″

In progressive metal circles, the names of guitarist Jim Matheos and vocalist John Arch are spoken with due reverence. With the former having been a driving force in Fates Warning for thirty-five years, and the latter the original front-man of that band, they also have a single seminal work under the Arch / Matheos banner, 2011’s Sympathetic Resonance. In 2019, they have reunited to follow that record up with “Winter Ethereal”, a more stylistically varied and perhaps deeper collection that explores a lot of sonic territory over the course of nine immersive tracks. “This stems from both of us trying to step out of our comfort zones a bit, sometimes voluntarily, sometimes being pushed,” states Matheos. “Having worked together so many times, it would be easy to fall into the same way of doing things, and I think we were both interested in exploring some new areas.” Arch concurs and adds: “Each song is notably different from the next, and nothing sounds repetitive. It is not a concept album, but somehow after a full listen from start to finish, there does seem to be continuity between the songs that I can’t describe. At over an hour long, I think the fans will agree that it is a full listening experience.”

“Winter Ethereal” will be available in the following formats:
-black / white marbled swirl (US exclusive – limited to 700 copies)
-clear w/ blue smoke (US exclusive – limited to 300 copies)
-180g black vinyl (EU exclusive)
-blue / red marbled vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 300 copies)
-ice blue marbled vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 200 copies)
-white vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 100 copies)
-white / black marbled vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 400 copies)
* exclusive bundles with shirts, plus digital options are also available!

Winter Ethereal track-listing
1. Vermilion Moons 2. Wanderlust 3. Solitary Man
4. Wrath of the Universe 5. Tethered 6. Straight and Narrow
7. Pitch Black Prism 8. Never in Your Hands 9. Kindred Spirits